Lonely Rocky

 

The Title of this artwork is Lonely Rocky. The art is a gray french bulldog. I used my dog as the model for the picture. I used triangles and random shapes in creating the picture. I also put a straight green and yellow background. Rocky is sitting down on a floor in the picture.

I created my art on the photoshop app. I used a variety of tools that come with the Photoshop app. I used the polygonal lasso tool, path selection tool, hand tool, move tool, and the eyedropper tool. The tool I used the most was the polygonal lasso tool so I could make the shapes for my dog and blur it to the color of Rocky.

What inspired my work was dogs in general. I have always loved dogs since I was a kid. I always take pictures of my dog so I decided to use my dog. I always think my dog is lonely because he has no brother or sister so he has no one to play with. Rocky stays home when everyone is out of the house at school or work so he just stays by himself. I think that he usually gets bored and lonely so it shows that when you have no one to hang out with or have something in common with another person you might feel lonely. I tried to show how lonely my dog was but that he still has people to comfort him. I showed the way he is comforted from the warmer colors in the background. 

My goal as an artist is to put something out that looks good. It doesn’t have to be the best but something that I am glad about. This piece of art did help me reach my goal because I think that it came out nice. You can really see his eyes and how he might be feeling a bit lonely.

I learned that low poly is actually fun to work with and it looks good. This piece is what I imagined even better. I like how the art actually looks like the actual picture. In using photoshop in the future this piece of art will help me because i gained more patience with working with art. In the making of the project it took a while to form all the shapes. 

4 thoughts on “Lonely Rocky

  1. My favorite thing about this work was the attention to detail on both the face and the paws of the dog. The different values within the body of the dog highlight the definition and varying colors of its fur. With the immense detail in the face, its form appears to be lifelike and almost 3-D. Personally, I would have made the shapes on the body slightly smaller triangles instead of larger rectangles. I feel that the technique used was very good. I think more time could have been spent on perfecting the shape of the body, but overall it is very well done. I believe the artist successfully captured the subject using polygonal shapes. Even though polygonal shapes were used, the emotion and personality of the dog can still be seen and felt through the photo. I feel this creates a well done polygonal image.

  2. I love how the artist really tried to express the color of his dog in such great detail. The value present on the body of the dog really brings out the dog’s coat. Also, this piece uses a very good form with the background to make the dog seem almost 3Dish. His technique was very good and I do feel as if he captured his dog’s image in this piece. The only thing I would have spent more time on is blurring the background.

  3. What do you like best about the work? (refer to two elements of art in your writing)
    What I like best about Victor’s work is the fine detail of his dog “Rocky,” and how great and smooth his transformation was from a regular photo to low poly. Furthermore, Victor uses the elements of shape and texture, using many different shapes besides triangles in his subject, and also using many of these shapes to create a sense of “feeling” to the viewers.
    What would you do differently?
    The only thing I would’ve done differently lies in the background, as Victor uses contrasting sprays of green and yellow. I would have kept with the geometric shapes rather than just a paint brush of colors for the background, as I believe it would cause the subject to pop out and also add uniformity to the piece as the dog was already done so perfectly. However, the contrast between shapes in the subject and background have the same effect.
    How was their technique? Should they have spent more time enhancing any aspect of the image?
    Victor’s technique is portrayed to be patient and careful, as the details of Rocky are shown so well as he used many small/medium sized shapes for certain parts of the dog. I like how the face of the dog has more shapes than the body, as the face will always be the key to seeing someone’s personality, even if they are just an animal. Therefore, I believe he does not need to spend any more time in any aspect of his piece.
    Did the artist successfully capture a portrait of the subject using polygonal shapes? Explain.
    The artist successfully captured a portrait as Rocky is clearly seen looking straight at the camera, being a full-body portrait for this “lonely” dog. Despite being turned into a geometric piece with the amount of polygonal shapes used, the dog’s blank face makes viewers believe he was posing for this picture. It is almost as if he knew he was going to be a portrait, almost acting candid and off-guard, therefore making Victor successful.

  4. What do you like best about the work? (refer to two elements of art in your writing)
    What I like best about this photo is the background. I like how there is a pattern from yellow to green.
    What would you do differently?
    The only thing I would do differently would be to try to bend in white with the black a little better on the dogs chest.
    How was their technique? Should they have spent more time enhancing any aspect of the image?
    Vick’s technique was great, he went with a different approach from the rest. He made the bottle shapes bigger. Then at the top of the picture he made the face more textured and more tightly compacted triangles, to bring out the realistic features a dog presents. The time spent on this project was a perfect amount.
    Did the artist successfully capture a portrait of the subject using polygonal shapes? Explain.
    Yes, the artist did successfully capture the dog using polygonal shapes, due to the fact the viewers can easily tell what the artist was trying polygonal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *